Stringybark Open Short Story Award 2024



Sussex Street Skins, 1986


James Angus Bond

The Stringybark Times Past Short Story Award 2016


Longing for Solitude


Richard Harvie

"Commandant Patrick Logan, that bloody, cruel man, was alone. Alone at last. Beautifully and thoroughly alone. Alone in that empty heat-shimmering land that stretched endlessly and emptily away from him, drawing him ever onwards into its embrace, gently leading him away from a people he could hardly call his anymore. A soul and body scarred by war and heavy responsibility bore grim testimony to the fruits of loyalty and service."

— from "Longing for Solitude" by Richard Harvie

Thirty award-winning stories fill this entertaining book. Written by Australian and international authors these stories explore Australian history from the arrival of the British to contemporary events. Each story is based upon a real episode in Australia's past. There is no better way to discover that history is not dead kings and queens and musty, dusty collections of forgettable dates. These award-winning stories bring history to life.


Barley Water and Condensed Milk — Michael Wilkinson • Captain Martin's Elephant — Robin Archbold • An Aislings Beach Tragedy — Kathryn Vincent • Black Mist — David Slade • Dawn's Icy Fingers — Vickie Walker • The Murder of Owen Owens — Christine Childs • Thallium and Cupcakes — Gillian Brown • Second Chance — Debra Booth • The Cuts — Warwick Newnham • The Four-eyed God — Sally Rhyanen • Swimming the Mob — Rebecca Byrne • Petrov's Wife — Jenny Peters • Do Ghosts Have Freckles? — Kathy Childs • The Spotter's Sketch — Greg Bartlett • I'm not Trim — Margot Ogilvie • Click Go the Shears — Anne Tavares • The Stripper — Alex Reece Abbott • First Flight — Stephen Knox • Against the Order of Nature — Michael Wilkinson • Myall Creek — Megan Wallens • A Far Place — Linda Ruth Brooks • Collision Course — Linda Brandon • Dave and Doug Went to War — Eileen M Williams • Released — Kym Iliff-Reynolds • It's Just Not Cricket — Julie Davies • The Square Tin — Roger Wheatley

Competition Closed: 31 July 2016

83 entries.  $1024 in prizes.

Judges:Maree Teychenné, Bradley Baker, Rees Campbell and David Vernon

Editor: David Vernon

Cover designer: Michael Vernon

Cover photographer: Sandid

Ausralian printer: Kainos Print

30 published stories.  One e-book and printed anthology, Longing for Solitude

Edited by David Vernon, e-book and paperback, Stringybark Publishing,

ISBN: 978-0-9925759-5-3

$14.95 includes postage within Australia.  Discounts for multiple purchases.  Please enquire for international orders.

Purchase E-book ($3.95 AUD)


Allied Warship, Enemy Aircraft


Pamela Jeffs

The Long Straw


Eugenie Pusenjak